Loading Events

« All Events

September 26 • 7:00 pm

 

Program takes place on Zoom Webinar. A recording will be available at any time after the program. 

On September 29, 1913, the New York Times led with the headline that Rudolf Diesel – multi-millionaire inventor of the diesel engine and international superstar in the scientific community – had disappeared of a passenger ship crossing from Belgium to England and was presumed dead. Since Diesel’s disappearance, the world has assumed one of three outcomes: there was an accident, he committed suicide, or he was murdered, with high profile players such as Kaiser Wilhelm and John D. Rockefeller in the line of accusation. 

Now, New York Times bestselling author and historian Douglas Brunt reopens the hundred-year-old mystery of what really became of Rudolf Diesel in his new book The Mysterious Case of Rudolf Diesel: Genius, Power, and Deception on the Eve of World War One. Perfect for fans of Erik Larson, Brunt expertly weaves history with intrigue while presenting a new theory on Diesel’s disappearance. 

Virtual: Choose your own price for non-members. Free for members. REGISTER HERE. 

Copies of The Mysterious Case of Rudolf Diesel are available for purchase through the Mark Twain Store; proceeds benefit The Mark Twain House & Museum. Books will be shipped after the event. We regret that we are NOT able to ship books outside the United States as it is cost-prohibitive to do so. 

_____________________________________________________________ 

 About the Author: Douglas Brunt is the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosts of Manhattan, The Means, and Trophy Son, and host of the top-rated SiriusXM author podcast Dedicated with Doug Brunt. 

About the Moderator: Gareth Russell is a historian, novelist, and playwright. He was educated at Oxford University and Queen’s University, Belfast, He is the author of The Ship of Dreams, Young and Damned and Fair, The Emperors, and An Illustrated Introduction to the Tudors. In addition to be a commentator and royal expert, he is the host of the podcast, Single Malt History. 

_____________________________________________________________ 

Programs at The Mark Twain House & Museum are made possible in part by support from CT Humanities; the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development, Office of the Arts; Ensworth Charitable Foundation, Bank of America, N.A., Trustee; the Greater Hartford Arts Council’s United Arts Campaign; The Hartford; The Mark Twain Foundation; The National Endowment for the Humanities; and Travelers. 

Details

Date:
September 26
Time:
7:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Online