Trustees and Advisory Council

Board of Trustees

Hans Miller | Chair of the Board 
Ted Whittemore | Vice Chair of the Board and Chair of the Governance Committee | Attorney and Partner (ret.) | Murtha Cullina, LLP 
Timothy Matson | Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee | Senior Vice President and Chief Investment Officer | National Guardian Life Insurance Company  
Bridget E. Quinn | Secretary of the Board of Trustees | President & CEO | Hartford Public Library 
Ben Robinson | Chair of the Building and Grounds Committee | Senior Architect | Hoffman Architects 
David Jimenez | Chair of the Development Committee | Jackson Lewis P.C. Principal 
Julie Zyla | Chair of the Curatorial Committee | U.S. Commercial Marketing Senior Advisor (ret.) | Cigna 
Robert Englehart | Chair of the Program Working Group | Editorial Cartoonist and Author | The Hartford (ret.) 
Sue Freedman | Chair of the Education Working Group | Of Counsel, School Law Practice Group Shipman & Goodwin, LLP 
Kamal Agrawal | Group General Counsel | Travelers International 
David Baldacci | Writer & Philanthropist 
Annette Bolt (ret.) | Former President of The Friends of Mark Twain House | Public and Private Accountant 
Y’landa Burch | Executive Director of Statewide Efforts | Boys & Girls Clubs in Maryland  
Trevon Canada | Head of Operations for Middle Market and Global Business Segments | The Hartford 
Rand Richards Cooper | Writer and Editor 
Monica Melchionni Curtis | Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer at MetLife 
Henry Denton | Principal at Hightree Advisors 
Paul Eddy | President of the Board – Emeritus | Senior Vice President and Group General Counsel for International (ret.) | The Travelers Companies 
Ellis A. Fenwick | Lead in Commercial Real Estate Credit Risk and Portfolio Management at Fannie Mae 
Rohan Freeman | President and CEO | Freeman Co. Engineers, LLC 
Amy Gallent, President, CEO, and U.S. General Counsel at Catalina Insurance (ret.) 
Christina M. Greer, Ph.D. | Associate Professor of Political Science | Fordham University 
Lawrence Howe, Ph.D. | Professor Emeritus of English and Film Studies | Roosevelt University 
Javon Jackson | Director of the Jackie McLean Institute of Jazz | The Hartt School | University of Hartford 
Roger L. Michel, Jr. | Executive Director | Institute for Digital Archaeology 
Juline Mills, Ph.D. |Interim Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs and Professor | Westfield State University 
Hon. Daniel A. Morris | United States Immigration Judge 
Dina Plapler | Director of Institutional Advancement | Kingswood Oxford School 
Abby Sannizzaro | Senior Specialist of Community Engagement at Stanley Black & Decker 
Merche Del Valle | Senior Talent, Leadership, Organizational, Development Executive and CEO Executive | Coach Medley Professional Training and Coaching 


Kerry Driscoll, Ph.D.

Professor of English and Mark Twain Scholar

Prof. Dr. Frieder Hepp

Director of the Palatinate Museum of the City of Heidelberg

Cindy Lovell, Ph.D.

Educator, Writer, Mark Twain Scholar, former Executive Director of MTHM

Kevin Mac Donnell

Scholar and Collector

Louise Mirrer, Ph.D.

President and CEO of New York Historical Society

Azar Nafisi, Ph.D. 

Author and Professor

Doug Preston

Journalist and Author

Dawnie Walton

Author and winner of 2022 Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award

Steve White

Former President and CEO of Mystic Seaport Museum