Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award

Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award

From his home in Hartford, Mark Twain changed the way the world sees America and the way Americans see themselves.

Part of what makes Mark Twain’s work such an iconic piece of American history is the part he played in establishing a uniquely American voice in literature – especially with his 1885 masterpiece Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Just as Huckleberry Finn defined the voice of 19th-century America, The Mark Twain House & Museum looks to recognize modern voices that define our current America.

First presented in 2016, the Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award honors a work of fiction from the previous calendar year that speaks with an “American Voice” about American experiences.

The award carries a $25,000 cash prize underwritten by bestselling author and former trustee of the Mark Twain House and Museum, David Baldacci.

For more information contact Omar Acevedo at

Submissions are due by March 15.

The 2022 Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award Winner

Congratulations to our 2022 American Voice in Literature Award winner, The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton.  From 60 eligible titles published in 20121 submitted for consideration this year, we celebrated the winning work of fiction at an engaging evening of dinner and discussion with the author.

View photos from the event HERE.

Previous Winners

Stephen Graham Jones for The Only Good Indians.

Ocean Vuong for On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous

Jesmyn Ward for Sing, Unburied, Sing

Bill Beverly for Dodgers

T.C. Boyle for The Harder They Come