The Mark Twain House & Museum is inviting submissions from publishers and authors for the Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award, which carries a $25,000 prize. Two runners-up will each receive $1,000. The entry deadline is January 15, 2019. Novels and short story collections published in 2017 and 2018 are eligible.

Winners will be presented in a ceremony at The Mark Twain House in May, (date to be announced).

Mark Twain House trustee and best-selling author David Baldacci initiated the contest and funds the awards, which recognize distinct American voices. Board member Roger Michel also provides generous support for the awards.

Past winners are T.C. Boyle for his novel The Harder They Come and Bill Beverly, author of Dodgers.


Submission guidelines.

  1. Send 3 copies of a single fiction book or short story collection published in 2017 or 2018 to: Jennifer LaRue, The Mark Twain House & Museum, 65 Forest St., Hartford CT 06105.
  2. Download the official entry form, available here.
  3. Enclose a $50 entry fee for each book. Checks are payable to: The Mark Twain House.

Publishers may enter more than one title.

Complete information on the American Voice in Literature Award is on the Mark Twain House website.